The Federal Government is currently shutdown. and most associated websites are unavailable. This site will remain available, however, it will not be updated and we will not be able to respond to inquiries until appropriations are enacted. Visit to learn more.

AOML's research programs are carried out within three science divisions: Hurricane Research; Ocean Chemistry and Ecosystems; and Physical Oceanography. The Office of the Director, lead by Dr. Robert Atlas, oversees the Laboratory's scientific programs, as well as its administrative, financial, computer, outreach/education, and facility management services.

Office of the Director

  • Dr. Robert Atlas, AOML Director

  • Dr. Molly Baringer, AOML Deputy Director

  • LT Benjamin VanDine, Acting Associate Director for Fleet, Facilities, and Safety

  • Robert Kohler, Computer Network and Services

  • Dalynne Julmiste, Administrative Officer

  • Erica Rule, Communications and Outreach


Science Division Directors

  • Dr. Frank Marks, Hurricane Research Division
  • Dr. Gustavo Goni, Physical Oceanography Division
  • Dr. James Hendee, Ocean Chemistry and Ecosystems Division

Employee Tools
Stay Connected